Register or log in (lost password?):

Low End Talk

Hosting Websites on Bare Minimum VPS/Dedicated Servers

Low End Talk » Low End Talk

lowendbox.com's content has been ripped off

(30 posts)
  1. king
    Member

    admin, are you aware that there's a website that rip off your content?

    Posted 1 year ago #
  2. LowEndAdmin
    Key Master

    Oh yeah. Lots. They somehow try to pingback to this blog and that's how I discover them. Not sure what I can do about them. Not too worried though.

    Posted 1 year ago #
  3. Paulmankipu
    Member

    Hi Key Master, I would say it's an Open house !

    Posted 1 year ago #
  4. drmike
    Member

    Could always start up a sh*t list and the rest of us could send nasty emails to the hosts. :)

    Posted 1 year ago #
  5. LowEndAdmin
    Key Master

    Okay. Really fed up with this "specialvps.com" site that copied every byte without attribution and even hot link my own images, so I got up my ass to find out who is behind it. All links point to this guy:

    Joy Tai (deak17.cn, zhujimi.com, etc)

    I know "Joy" has been commenting on LowEndBox.com, and yeah I know it's a girl's name, but it's a really 22 year old guy I am talking about.

    As I am not in US and "specialvps.com" is hosted at HawkHost.com/Softlayer, I am wondering what are my options? Any US residents here want to give a suggestion?

    Posted 1 year ago #
  6. earl
    Member

    could you not send a DMCA to HawkHost.com/Softlayer?

    Posted 1 year ago #
  7. Jackk
    Member

    DMCA would be good.

    Posted 1 year ago #
  8. dmmcintyre3
    Member

    Block his site from loading the images from your server. Maybe redirect to a image saying not to hotlink from lowendbox.com
    Also, send a DMCA

    Posted 1 year ago #
  9. LowEndAdmin
    Key Master

    Thanks for the suggestions guys.

    For hotlinking yeah some nasty things can be done. Like goatse or anything from /b/ in 4chan -- but just not my taste. Yes could use DMCA. Or maybe send in a polite email to Joy :)

    It's weekend here so I'll worry about it next week.

    Posted 1 year ago #
  10. null
    Member

    Hit him where it hurts and get his domain privacy removed, or his domain suspended. He's just going to move offshore if you send a DMCA takedown notice.

    Posted 1 year ago #
  11. earl
    Member

    Maybe it's one of those autoblogs? Joy seems to have a lot of domains with blogs and I'm not surprise if they are all copied content.

    But yeah.. a polite letter to Joy would probably be a good start.. just hope Joy doesn't spam your email.

    Posted 1 year ago #
  12. neosurge
    Member

    One effective method is to file DMCA with his host as well as with google. If he gets blacklisted with them, then the fight is won.

    http://www.google.com/dmca.html

    Posted 1 year ago #
  13. LowEndAdmin
    Key Master

    This one is not just ripping off the content, but also my ugly design as well!

    http://www.worldhostingtalk.com/

    Here's the snippet of the WHOIS:

    Registrant Contact Information :
                            Wang
                            Xianfeng
    
                            laoying@gmail.com
                            Sanhao street No.87
                            Shenyang
                            1100004
                            86 1394037754

    Keeping it here just in case he privacy-masks it later.

    Posted 1 year ago #
  14. earl
    Member

    WOW!! he's even using your facebook..

    Posted 1 year ago #
  15. asim
    Member

    @earl lol, yes. and he is adding his own content too just to make it look legit

    Posted 1 year ago #
  16. Jackk
    Member

  17. eLohkCalb
    Member

    Apparently this guy ripped other sites too, not sure what's the purpose though.

    * http://www.stocksir.cn/ (source = http://www.eastmoney.com/)
    * http://www.feiyue-2009.com/ (source = http://www.drakepeak.net/)

    Posted 1 year ago #
  18. earl
    Member

    @jackk

    every user on that site is using your avatar!

    Posted 1 year ago #
  19. Jackk
    Member

    lol

    @LEA - You always seem to describe your layout as horrible - I love it!

    Posted 1 year ago #
  20. LowEndAdmin
    Key Master

    Ugly quick hacks. Works, low bandwidth requirement, but not too fancy :P

    Well. Someone said "imitation is the greatest form of flattery", so Jack you should be PROUD! Everyone is copying your gravatar!

    Posted 1 year ago #
  21. Jackk
    Member

    I think he's trying to say that his site has more description and info on one of the posts in the comments.

    I also think he's displaying your ads. lol

    Posted 1 year ago #
  22. wonderking
    Member

    Hello everyone,

    I am sorry making so many trouble here.
    I am the owner of http://www.worldhostingtalk.com, and I like your theme, so I copy it one night. I don't know whether it is illegal to use your theme or not. And if you don't like I using it I will change it somehow step by step.

    It's my first time to build(copy) a WP theme. worldhostingtalk.com will supply more infomation about dedicate server, hosting and vps.

    Have a good day.

    Posted 1 year ago #
  23. a2787382
    Member

    @wonderking are you ok? have you consider going on a psychologist?

    Posted 1 year ago #
  24. wonderking
    Member

    @a2787382
    different law, different culture

    Posted 1 year ago #
  25. a2787382
    Member

    yes whatever

    Posted 1 year ago #
  26. LowEndAdmin
    Key Master

    different law, different culture

    While you personally might be under a different jurisdiction system, your website is hosted on a server that is subjected to US law. You might want to move your site elsewhere if you do not wish to abide the copyright law :)

    I don't know whether it is illegal to use your theme or not.

    Regardless how ugly my theme is, it is still my intellectual property. There is no where says that it is a public domain or licensed under an OSS approved license. If you wish to use the verbatim copy of the entire content, at least I am expecting an enquiry.

    As whether it is legal or not under YOUR law, have a look here.

    http://www.edu.cn/20011105/3008137.shtml

    Maybe should just blame on the culture completely.

    Posted 1 year ago #
  27. wonderking
    Member

    OK, I'll change it. Sorry for disturbing you so much.

    Posted 1 year ago #
  28. dirkb
    Member

    The content is also a totaly rip-off.
    On your site "Mody from Host90 contacted me about their exclusive offer for the LowEndBox users. Use promo code Lowendbox to get 15% off recurring discount. Their “Baby VPS” becomes $4.24/month after the discount, and it has", while you're "worldhostingtalk".
    Culture or law I don't know, we call that STEALING

    Posted 1 year ago #
  29. drmike
    Member

    LEB, could always drop Fdcservers.net's abuse department a complaint. I believe they're fairly quick to deal with such issues.

    Posted 1 year ago #
  30. WH4LReview
    Member

    Hi, I'm the owner of Webhost4lifereview.com and the website owner "SpecialVPS.com" is real sucks..
    He copied so many articles from my website and using my website images and surprisingly, he can receive higher position on the Google.. I felt sadness and I've reported it to Google support team, but no response for 2 weeks..

    I'm not located at USA, or I'll fuck the shit guy on the Law!!!

    Posted 1 year ago #

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.